Monthly Update

Hello Stemheads!

How has your summer been? I don’t really care for summer. It’s always so sticky where I live. And nothing much happens in the Orla Kiely Universe anyway.

I guess the big news that happened this past month was the announcement of the first ever OK exhibition in London. In 2018.

Here is the WWD writeup: http://wwd.com/fashion-news/fashion-scoops/londons-fashion-and-textile-museum-mount-orla-kiely-exhibit-10951534/

And here is the Vogue writeup: http://www.vogue.co.uk/gallery/orla-kiely-exhibition-a-life-in-pattern

And a week ago, OK posted on Instagram that they were shooting their Spring 2018 Lookbook that day. As far as I know, the pic above is the only shot they have published so far from it. These straw/raffia bags are the only line of bags shown in the entire Lookbook. I was able to take a look at the whole Lookbook confidentially this week so I know this. The Spring collection is inspired by the 1940s and most of the models are sporting retro large roller twisted hairdos in it. The color story was mostly full of teal, brown, and rust, which I didn’t feel was very spring-like to be frank. Right now, I am feeling a bit underwhelmed about the collex, after already feeling underwhelmed about the Resort 2018 collex.

Perhaps I will feel differently once I see the Stem Lookbook for Spring. If I can get a scoop on pix, I will post them here, of course. [9/5/17: I was able to get pix of the Stem Lookbook. I will post them at the end of the year closer to release date. Get excited.]

But for now, this will be your monthly update from me. I was hoping that the Autumn/Winter 2018 Collex will be arriving in stores at the end of this month but I was told Sept instead.

Later, Stemheads!

 

Leave a Reply

